Social media forums can be a great source for sharing ideas and participating in interesting discussions. However, it can also be a source of annoyance when certain users get out of control. Sometimes you just wish you could “mute” these people from your life so you don’t have to deal with it, at least for the time being. Well, now you can do just that!
Twitter has recently added a new mute feature, which differs from the blocking feature, so that you can take a break from annoying or offensive Tweets from other users. Another very cool aspect of this new feature is that the users you mute won’t even realize it.
The current blocking feature notifies users that they have been blocked by you, whereas the new mute function allows you to silence annoying Tweets when needed, and unmute them should you ever decide to.
Using The Mute Feature
If someone is getting on your nerves and you desire to mute them to get a break from them, simply tap on the Tweet and then tap the More button at the bottom. Muting may also be done directly from a user’s profile by selecting the gear icon and selecting the Mute option from the drop-down menu. This can be done from the Web, or from Android or iOS apps on mobile devices. For unmuting, go to the user’s profile and tap on the red icon that says “unmute”.
The Difference Between The Mute And Block Features
When you block a user, they are not allowed to interact with you. They cannot retweet your Tweets nor reply to your content. They also are unable to tag you in photos or follow you on Twitter while they are blocked. On the other hand, when using the Mute feature, the user may still retweet, fave, or respond to your comments, and you will still be made aware of their interactions with you. However, their Tweets from the regular stream will not show up on your timeline. The user that you have muted will always be unaware that you have muted them.
This new feature appears mere months after Twitter sparked outrage among its users by changing their blocking policy, allowing blocked users to still interact with your Tweets. After this change received much backlash, they went back to their former policy. This new mute feature is another privacy measure that Twitter hopes will appeal to its users.
[Image credit: thamimzy, Flickr]